Update + New Job

It almost looks like mist.

For the past few days we’ve been seeing the after-effects of the U.S.’s extreme forest fires. Deceptively thin grey smoke clouds our skies. At times one can see a ghost of orange in there. Some people said it makes the world look like a newspaper from the 70s.

With less intent on going outside, it feels like I’m back at the start of lockdown. The whole family’s more or less holed up in the house. There’s a couple 1000 piece puzzles sitting ominously on the coffee table. I don’t want to resort to that. A Scrabble game perhaps?

I also started a new position three weeks ago come Monday. It’s been a pretty great gig, and the office is steps away from the Inner Harbour. On sunny days, I’d look out my window and it’d look like a post card, or the backdrop of the Destination Greater Victoria website.

What I’m most grateful for though is the team. They’re small, but from what I’ve experienced so far, they’re really supportive, especially when training. They said they’re always available for questions, any questions, and to never feel bad about asking. What a relief.

One thing I’m working on is getting over this idea to do everything on my own. To unlearn that I need to know everything by x amount of time. Sometimes, learning things once is not enough. For some things, it takes repetition to build those neural pathways, or habits, or procedures.

Having a team that is supportive of your learning, since they remember their own beginner’s struggles, takes off so much pressure when in a new position. And that only makes a better performance from the employee. A win-win in my opinion.

I hope it goes well šŸ’œšŸ’—

-Santarossa Soundbites

Leave a comment